Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Ralnavman

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 28, 2023
United Kingdom
I have a mid 2010 27 iMac with High Sierra. Due to the hard drive size etc, want to use the machine to keep backups of various things. Delighted to find the OCLP project and subsequently loaded Ventura 13.6 which runs really well. This is my first time with the Mac environment, previously Windows, so I'm still learning. I also now have an early 2011 13" MBP, now running on Monterey 12.7.1, again thanks to the wonderful OCLP project.
I need to use the MBP to remotely access the iMac for which I would like to use Teamviewer having used it with Windows. And that's where I have a problem. It connects, and when the iMac is at the logon screen, I can see it in all its glory. When I log the iMac on, the host screen goes black and the iMac screen is grey, with the doc bar and ribbon strip showing on the iMac but not on the host. I say host because I have used both the MBP and a Windows machine and get the same results. I have granted all the security accesses on the iMac, loaded the very recent OCLP 1.2.2 and still the same. I can only imagine that the iMac isn't running graphics that is usable in Teamviewer. Having said that, I am fairly certain that it worked with High Sierra. The graphics in the iMac is the ATI Radeon HD 5670 with 512Mb.
Has anyone else had this issue (can't believe I'm the only one) and know how to make this work or have an alternative solution. I have also tried AnyDesk which doesn't seem to want to even connect.
Thanks for any help

Reactions: TechMeBack

TechMeBack

macrumors newbie
Nov 14, 2023