Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Woodrow72

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 16, 2008
Utah
I have enjoyed the advice I have received from this forum so far, so I return to you with more questions.

I am in the process of starting my photographic business, I am a student and am still learning everything that goes along with taking good photographs and the technique and skill involved.

I have 2 main questions that I pose to all of you on this forum.

First: I have heard many different photographers mention how they do not like amateur photographers charging money to do shoots. That these amateur photographers bring down the business and charge little to nothing for their work. I understand this complaint but at the same time I dont. How else are we suppose to learn and gain experience? Everyone was, at one time or another, an amateur. For the first few shoots that I have done I have charged very little or nothing because I am starting out. I explain to the people that I am still learning and I explain to them what to expect.

What is your opinion on this? What is the best way to start out, without bringing down the industry but not gouging your customers at the same time? I live in a state where people get married at a young age and often their weddings are on a shoe string budget, in most cases they cannot afford the best photographers. Does this mean they shouldn't get a good photographer? I am trying to keep my prices affordable while still giving them a quality product.

And on a separate note: Do any of you that run a photography business send out Thank You Cards? I am thinking of doing some but am not sure if that is standard in the industry.

Thanks in advance for all of the help

PeteB

macrumors 6502a
Jan 14, 2008
And thanks them personally when they pick up the CD or album. Although, if they're the customer, they should really be thanking you for your good service...