Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TheSpaz

macrumors 604
Original poster
Jun 20, 2005
What is the best way to manage photos? I have a friend who swears by using ONLY the Finder and preview for storing and viewing all his thousands of Photos but, I would think the Finder is a very bad way to organize your photo collection. I prefer iPhoto because it's easier to use than the Finder and it keeps things pretty well organized. Lately however, I've been reading a lot about Aperture and trying to decide whether or not it is an important upgrade to iPhoto. I already have Photoshop Elements 4 and iPhoto. Do I need Aperture?

Tell me, what is the best solution for someone looking to keep thousands of Photos organized. I'd like to think I'm a decent photographer but, I just got started a year ago with my Canon Digital Rebel.

PS: If you want you can check out my gallery at DeviantArt: http://just-spaztik.deviantart.com/gallery

I'd really like to prove my friend wrong about the Finder though.

SC68Cal

macrumors 68000
Feb 23, 2006
What is the best way to manage photos? I have a friend who swears by using ONLY the Finder and preview for storing and viewing all his thousands of Photos but, I would think the Finder is a very bad way to organize your photo collection. I prefer iPhoto because it's easier to use than the Finder and it keeps things pretty well organized. Lately however, I've been reading a lot about Aperture and trying to decide whether or not it is an important upgrade to iPhoto. I already have Photoshop Elements 4 and iPhoto. Do I need Aperture?

Tell me, what is the best solution for someone looking to keep thousands of Photos organized. I'd like to think I'm a decent photographer but, I just got started a year ago with my Canon Digital Rebel.

PS: If you want you can check out my gallery at DeviantArt: http://just-spaztik.deviantart.com/gallery