Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

DJ_NUFC

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 23, 2017
Hi Everyone,

First post here after being a longtime lurker. I’m a wedding photographer and I bought an iPad Pro 12.9 (2nd Gen) as my on-the-go machine for light editing and mainly image management, emails, spreadsheets, blogging, etc. I would say it’s replaced 80% of my MacBook Pro usage. However, I’ve developed a love-hate relationship with this thing. And it’s not because of the machine itself, which is a thing of beauty, but due to iOS.

I find file management severely lacking, and some of the features are so dumbfounding that I can’t even believe how or why a company would implement them.

Currently I’m stuck on the following issue: whenever I download an image from Smugmug or any online photo cloud app (via browser or app itself), the iPad changes the file name. I just found this out now. However, if I were to download a zip file of the same images and unzip it using WinZip Pro / Documents, I have no issues. At times I just need 5 images which are located in different folders online, I can’t always zip these things and unzip them, adding unnecessary steps to a very basic process.

As photographers would tell you, image names are vital as we organize images using them. I’m currently in the middle of selecting photos for album design for a client, and every time I download an image from Safari or anywhere, and let’s say it’s named “a_j_wedding_1.jpg,” as soon as I save it to Camera Roll OR Dropbox via the Files app, it changes it to “Image789.jpg.” WTF?

And what I’ve found is a lot of these issues seem to be “figure out a workaround yourself” kinda deal, so googling doesn’t help.

So here I am, seeking for anyone’s help on here who may have an idea of what I may be doing wrong, or if it’s just a system limitation.

Thanks!

Reactions: sracer

Makayla

macrumors 6502
Dec 20, 2016