Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Steven1621

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 10, 2003
Connecticut
I just purchased my first digital SLR, a Nikon D40. This will be my first foray in the realm of SLR photography.

I'd like to purchase another lens in addition to the 18-55mm that comes with the D40 kit. Over the summer, I'm going to be traveling around South America taking photos and such. My principle shots will be of landscapes and people, mostly outdoors. I'm flexible in terms of cost, but would like to keep things on the cheaper side since I'm just a beginner.

Any recommendations?

almightyshoe

macrumors regular
Jun 4, 2006
B-Town, India
Normally, for a measly 150 bucks, you could have gotten a cheap 70-300mm zoom (Nikkor or Sigma) that's pretty decent for the outdoors (check it out at dpchallenge), but as I was searching for a link for you, I found out that it's not compatible with the d40. My bad. Maybe someone else can recommend a similar lens.

jordygreen

macrumors 6502
Dec 26, 2006
London, UK
Ye i was going to recommend a 55 - 200mm lense i have one for my 400D and its very good because i can use standard lense and if i nee dto zoom in more i can use the next lense which goies up in teh correct number; like it doesnt skip anything out.

xsedrinam

macrumors 601
Oct 21, 2004
NIkon has just released the 55-200mm VR and also the 70-300mm VR. One of these would work quite nicely! The 55-200mm VR is small, like the kit lens, and therefore would be easier and lighter to carry around.
Looking to make the same or similar addition to my Nikon D40. Some brief shopping around lists the 55-200mm VR at ~US$249. Is there a better, reliable retail price? Thanks.

Steven1621

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Apr 10, 2003
Connecticut