Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bakteria

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 29, 2020

My experience going through two versions of the 2019 16" Macbook Pro in 2 years.​

TLDR: Bought 16" mbp, loads of issues with using an external monitor. Got it changed to another 16" with a newer graphics card said to alleviate my issues. The issues persisted. But since this machine was the only option for me I figured I'd wait for the 16" M1max.
Does the m1max have the same reliability issues as the 2019 16" macbook pro? What would you do?

I am a freelance photographer who also does a bit of videography. Up until 2020 I've relied on my trusty pc to do the heavy lifting.
But I had multiple system crashes and issues that occured every time I updated the machine. It just wanted something reliable enough for me to work with.

So I went and bought the 2019 16" macbook pro with these specs (16.0 SG/2.3GHZ 8C/16GB/5500M/1TB-KSW)
I had it a few months just as a stand alone machine without an external monitor alongside my pc as I made the transition. Everything worked absolutely fine.
But when I finally switched over to the mac and plugged in the mbp to the screen it all went to hell.
As soon as I plugged in the cable the fans on the computer ramped up to max. This was in idle mind you, no programs running.
I also had a lot of wierd bugs with strange frame rates. I could only use my external monitor with the mpb in clamshell otherwise it ran the screens in 30hz.
Started reading about this phenomenon here on macforums and after a lot of back and forth I decided to change out my current machine to a one with the Radeon Pro 5600M which apparently handled the issues with the fans ramping up.

Finally got the new machine and yes, the fans did not ramp up as frequent and as loud but it wasn't really far from the old one.