Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

spoon man

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 8, 2007
I use a nikon d40 i want to start working with photoshop im thinking about getting elements 4.0 to start me off in the world of photoshop but i want to know what others think of it and is it the right way to start???

spoon man

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 8, 2007
You might want to wait until March when the new version (6.0) comes out.

what dose the new version has to offer and the only reason im looking at 4.0 is that im new to the world of P.S and i just want to get the feel of things and then work my way up from there.

HomeingPigeon

macrumors regular
Aug 1, 2007
I have 4.0 elements. I like it. There are only a few things I have found that it really cant do. You can also try gimp if you want to. That is more like photoshop.

wordmunger

macrumors 603
Sep 3, 2003
North Carolina
what dose the new version has to offer and the only reason im looking at 4.0 is that im new to the world of P.S and i just want to get the feel of things and then work my way up from there.

The main thing is that it should be much faster on your computer -- version 4.0 is not optimized for the new Intel CPUs. But if you want to get started right away, I don't think the basic functionality will change that much -- though the interface looks to be quite a bit different.

spoon man

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Jul 8, 2007
ive just book my copy of elements 6.0 but no uk release date

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
I use a nikon d40 i want to start working with photoshop im thinking about getting elements 4.0 to start me off in the world of photoshop but i want to know what others think of it and is it the right way to start???