Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Wingsley

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 20, 2014
I am a happy Macintosh (since '86) and iPad (~3 yrs. ago) customer.

Up to now, I and the rest of our household resisted investing in pricey smartphones because we live in a hilly area where spotty reception makes these fancy gadgets useless in a hurry. But I'm really bummed out by the stuttering performance of my Lenovo-Motorola G6 Play. Compared to my aging iPad Mini, the G6 is frustrating to use. I prefer to use Instagram on the iPad. Even checking the weather forecast on the G6 can be a pain.

I wanted to ask on this forum about what good places there are to find a deal on a used late-model iPhone (or even a refurb). I would not mind getting an iPhone XR, but I could go back further. It would be interesting to go back further but I want one that can run iOS 14.

I'm new to shopping in this realm and wondering what deals can be found out there. Where are the good places to shop, and how is the best way to shop there?

Thanks in advance.

theapplehead

macrumors 6502a
Dec 17, 2018
North Carolina
I am a happy Macintosh (since '86) and iPad (~3 yrs. ago) customer.

Up to now, I and the rest of our household resisted investing in pricey smartphones because we live in a hilly area where spotty reception makes these fancy gadgets useless in a hurry. But I'm really bummed out by the stuttering performance of my Lenovo-Motorola G6 Play. Compared to my aging iPad Mini, the G6 is frustrating to use. I prefer to use Instagram on the iPad. Even checking the weather forecast on the G6 can be a pain.

I wanted to ask on this forum about what good places there are to find a deal on a used late-model iPhone (or even a refurb). I would not mind getting an iPhone XR, but I could go back further. It would be interesting to go back further but I want one that can run iOS 14.