Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

student_trap

macrumors 68000
Original poster
Mar 14, 2005
'Ol Smokey, UK
Hello all.

essentially I have been using my canon 400D for 2 years now with the kit lens and the Canon EF 50mm f/1.8II Standard Lens (for about £90), and think that it is about time (and have a bit of spare cash) to look for something a little better.

However, I am really quite uncertain of what to be looking for, as although i know my camera inside out, i have never really ventured into lenses and other add-ons.

My photography is a bit of a mixed bag. I am an amateur but want to eventually look towards getting some of my stuff in galleries, and also use it to photograph my sister when she is on stage (she is an actress and needs a record of her work for her portfolio etc etc).

Most of my photography though is on the street, so i'd like a lens that is quite versatile, but also good enough so that its not the usual jack of all trades, master of none scenario!

Furthermore, I particularly like the EF 50mm f/1.8II lens i have already as it allows me to use an aperture as low as 1.8, which helps as a) for the theatre work it is usually quite dark and b) my hands can be pretty shaky sometimes. But the kit lense, while of lesser quality does allow me more flexibility as its an 18-55, whereas the fixed focus one is fixed at 50mm.

General Questions:

1. Would IS be a good idea?
2. what is USM?

Options:

1. I could go for a zoom lense, and if so how far?
2. I could go with a better quality lense that combines the functionality of my current two lenses
3. I could go with something to ad to the lenses i already have, but im not sure what the options are here?

In general, I am a little lost as to what might be the best first 'good lens' to buy, and furthermore, once i buy it i probably wont be able to get another for quite a while.

My budget is around £250, but i am flexible