Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

misybee

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 17, 2018
England
I have a 2015 13" Macbook Pro Retina, I only bought it last month off ebay. This morning I woke up to black and coloured lines running down the middle of the screen, they've now spread a bit further and are also horizontal but are definitely coming from one obvious place, which makes me think it's a connection issue. They react when pressure is applied but alway return and new ones can appear from this.

Pictures: https://imgur.com/a/KNpoA

Because it's out of warranty and second had I'm in a bit of a mess in terms of getting it repaired by Apple, especially as I don't even live near an Apple store. I'm a student so don't exactly have cash to spare so may just have to deal with this for a while until I can afford to fix it. I've sent out a few messages to local repair shops and one guy has come back saying he will replace the graphics card for £250, I'm no expert, but I don't think that will fix the issue. Does anyone have any advice or know what this is?

keysofanxiety

macrumors G3
Nov 23, 2011
Where? I can't see anything dented, or cracked, etc.

See cracks at bottom.
Screen Shot 2018-02-17 at 15.46.21.png

misybee

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Feb 17, 2018
England

Hi, do you think that would be inside on the LCD then? (Sorry if that's completely off I don't know screens very well) The actual screen itself on the outside is not damaged. And there was nothing to suggest something hit it, although I have heard it can be done just by closing the lid too fast.

And thank you for your response!

jerryk

macrumors 604
Nov 3, 2011
SF Bay Area