Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

leftbanke7

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Feb 4, 2004
West Valley City, Utah
Sorry about putting this post here. It's not technically digital photography but this forum was about as close as there was.

Anywho. I use a Pentaz PZ-70 SLR when I go out and do my thing. I am no pro by any means and I think even amature may even be a little high. However, the type of photography I generally like to do are time lapse photos at night. One problem I run into though is that when I take the picture, any light source in the frame (street light, building lighting) tends to, for a lack of better term, blow out. My friend with the exact same camera can usually get the surrounding lighting to make a star effect with minimal light blobbing.

So, I am looking for suggestions on what I can do or what I can change in my photo habits to get the desired effect.

What I can tell you about my photo habits:

- I generally use 400 speed film because when I get the urge to go out, it is at night and any and all film stores are closed and the local grocery store tends to only sell 400 speed B/W.
- I couldn't tell you what f-stop I set my camera on as, sadly, I never took the time to write down what I am doing while I am doing it. My camera has the following settings: 4, 5.6, 8, 11, 16, 22 (I imagine that is standard).
- I own a couple of filters (Diffuser, Polarizer and one of those frou frou filters that make the edges of the image soft). Unsure if they would do anything for me considering what it is I do.

So any suggestions would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

Gnorn

macrumors regular
May 7, 2006
The Tavern, Thornwood
A lot of factors add up towards a succesful nightshot.

Do you develop your films yourself? If so, I suggest reading the books by Ansel Adams (a master of B&W photography): ... there a great read anyway :)

- The Camera
- The Negative
- The Print