Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Melodeath

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 9, 2009
I'm using Time Machine on my iMac (running OS X Yosemite) with a Seagate Backup Plus 4TB USB 3.0. I've been using it since February of 2013 on my Macbook Pro, and more recently on my iMac. I got home from work today and there was a notice that the last Time Machine backup failed. When I checked the status, it seemed to be stuck around 60% through the backup, so I told it to stop/skip this backup. There is a little red icon next to the last backup, and it tells me something along the lines of "there was an Error copying files during the backup. This may be a temporary problem, but if it persists, try to verify the disk using Disk Utility." It also says the last successful backup was at 8:19AM this morning. I try restarting the computer, but again Time Machine gets stuck.

So, I go to Disk Utility and it says I need to repair the disk. I try to repair and it says it can't repair because it can't unmount the disk. So, how do I fix this? The disk still seems to be working, but extremely slowly. What happened exactly? Is the drive itself busted, or did Time Machine somehow hose the file system on it? What should I do next? I'm currently attempting to transfer off some non-critical files onto a different external before I maybe attempt wiping the drive. Thank you for the help

thats all folks

macrumors 6502a
Dec 20, 2013
Austin (supposedly in Texas)
sounds like the drive is done and time to buy a new one. you got over 3 years out of it, I'd say that is good for a basic consumer grade drive. Time machine can be taxing for a drive with tons of repetetive little transactions.

jgelin

macrumors 6502a
Jul 30, 2015
St Petersburg, FL