Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Styvow

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 19, 2020
Hi everyone,

I'm a professional photographer and taking the opportunity during this pandemic to reorganise and ramp up my back-up system. I used to work with a ton of external drives and do a lot of manual backups. But I switched to a Synology NAS, use it as an archive that is automatically backed up to the cloud and also looking into using it to store a TimeMachine back-up on.

Now, what I understand (and I'm an IT layman) is that the TimeMachine is a good, easy way to backup your Mac (in my case a MacBook Pro) but in case my MBP dies on me or is stolen or whatever... I can't use that TM-backup to work from on a different device. Therefore I need a bootable backup of my MBP. I have Carbon Copy Cloner so could use this to make a bootable backup.

How I'm setting up my NAS is that it automatically backs up all my work to the cloud but also on an external hard drive that I periodically pop in the NAS using USB Copy. So I don't need to manually schedule a backup. Just pop in the hard drive and it's get done automatically, the way I like it. :)
So I'm a bit reluctant to the additional complexity of having a bootable backup manually made every week next to my TM backup on the NAS. I would need to connect an external drive into my computer and start a backup.

So my questions are:
1. Can I use a bootable backup when it's stored on my NAS or do I need an external hard drive?
2. What is the additional value of a bootable backup? If I don't see the need to be able to immediately start working on another device from a bootable backup. I could just get a new device, load the latest TM backup on the that internal drive and start working?

Thanks for any advice!

Longkeg

macrumors 6502a
Jul 18, 2014
The Nation’s (US) Oldest City