Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

GradyG

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Sep 19, 2018
I’ve never lined up for an apple product on launch day. I’d appreciate some help for myself and others reading.

First, how early should I show up? I was thinking an hour before launch. It’s a typical in-mall store.

How much stock will they have? I’m getting SB SS... what are my chances from your experience?

And finally how do they do it? Do they hand out reservation cards in line?

Thanks so much!

mullet

macrumors regular
Dec 8, 2003
B'klyn
I'm no expert on launch day tips, but I'd venture to guess that since we're looking at about a month til shipping if you order right now via apple online, that this watch is going to be very popular. Thus, I'd say that people will start lining up hours in advance, not just an hour, but hours. How many? I can't say. I could be wrong, but this is just a hunch.

porkrind

macrumors regular
Jun 30, 2015
From pictures I’ve seen online, people have been lined up since earlier today (Thursday). Getting there an hour before is getting there late enough to be and the end of a big line.

OneMike

macrumors 603
Oct 19, 2005
If you go an hour before launch. Chances are that you won’t get anything or at a min be at the back of a non reservation line that moves very slow.

I reserved an iPhone X for pickup at mall last year and got there prob 8:30 for 9am pickup. Non reservation line went further than I could see as it wrapped around a corner. Easily saw 100 people before it went out of view.

Every store is different. If it were me though I’d probably have driven past the store tonight to see what line if any looked like.

TheBearman

macrumors 6502
May 23, 2008
Cary, NC