Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

acearchie

macrumors 68040
Original poster
Jan 15, 2006
Well to start off I am no pro photographer however I understand pretty much all the functions of the canon 10d that I have been allowed to borrow.

There is a photography competition at my school and I hope to have a decent shot at winning! The only condition is that the picture must be taken of or on school grounds. All pictures below are clickable and there are more on my Flickr account!

I have done the usual of pictures of the school during twilight using a long shutter and f11 on a low iso however the skies have been pretty full of clouds and produce not a very aesthetically pleasing picture!

I have also taken a fairly ok-ish pic of my friend throwing a dart with the dart fully in focus and everything else blurred.

Another option I went for is the crazy effects you can get with the long shutter time. These two are probably my best examples!

After recently getting a Diana F+ for my birthday I also have several black and white film photos available of my friends which has some nice charismatic shots!

If you have a few spare moments please check out my Flickr account which has a the full set of pictures.

So basically I am asking for some advice of any pictures people think I should take or try out or just wondering if you think any of the current shots should be retaken or have any merit to them!

Thanks

jackerin

macrumors 6502a
Jun 29, 2008
Finland
I have no experience with photo contests, but if you seriously want to win then I would say think about who is doing the judging. If it's students then they might go for the cool effect photos of extra-curriculur activities, but if it's teachers or older people they might want the more 'classical' look.

M-5

macrumors 65816
Jan 4, 2008