Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.
Status
Not open for further replies.

pbagaindoc

macrumors member
Original poster
Jun 8, 2005
Sorry for ignorance, thus digital SLR can take movie clip just like digi cam? thanks in advance!:D

adrianblaine

macrumors 65816
Oct 12, 2006
Pasadena, CA
Most can't do this. I know for sure that my Canon Rebel XT can't. I'm actually not quite sure if any true DSLR can do this. I can't exactly explain the reasons why very well though, I'm only an enthusiast photographer.

Clix Pix

macrumors Core
No, a digital SLR does not have the capability of making movie clips. It is specifically a camera for making still images.

Personally, I've never understood why the appeal of movies in a digital P&S. IMHO at best the final product is going to be pretty compromised. If someone wants to make a digital movie, that's fine, so use a digital movie camera, not a P&S camera that isn't always that successful at even making still images, much less a movie....

aristobrat

macrumors G5
Oct 14, 2005
Personally, I've never understood why the appeal of movies in a digital P&S. IMHO at best the final product is going to be pretty compromised.
One word answer: convenience.

Sometimes there are times where a "pretty compromised" final product is acceptable.

I wouldn't videotape a wedding using a digital P&S, but if I'm at a friends party just snapping some pictures for the fun of it, and someone decides to do a karaoke imitation, 45 seconds of less-than-perfect video beats even the best version of that story being retold. :)

adrianblaine

macrumors 65816
Oct 12, 2006
Pasadena, CA
No, a digital SLR does not have the capability of making movie clips. It is specifically a camera for making still images.