Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

phos07

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 18, 2020
Third Impact
After the review embargo lifted, I watched tons of reviews, but I'm still torn.

For context, I am a student in need of a new machine, and I will buy the M1 models. I do video editing sometimes, but probably nothing intensive. I barely game, so that factor isn't a deciding factor for me. Other than that I do everyday tasks. I am coming from a mid-2011 iMac, so any would be a significant upgrade for me.

Based on the benchmarks and reviews, it seems like the air is the way to go for me, considering that the pro is $300 more and performs quite similar to the air. Before M1 was announced (and before I read the rumors of arm macs coming), I was planning to go for the pro due to the thermal issues that seemed to haunt the air. With the M1, the thermals seems to be less of an issue, but...

The reviews didn't (or couldn't) address my main concern with the heat, which is the CPU temps due to the lack of support for the sensors (I guess). The external temperatures were a lot cooler than the previous gen (maybe about 5 degrees C), but I fear the internals still could reach a good temperature. I plan to use the machine as long as possible, so I definitely want to avoid the CPU being burned. As for the pro, it probably would mitigate any damage from the heat due to the active cooling, but many reviews pointed out they could barely hear the fan, making me wonder if the fans only kick in full speed after the CPU starts to heat up quite a bit instead of maintaining the CPU temperature cool from beginning to end. In that case I might as well buy the air, but this is all speculation, so I'm still hesitant to make the final decision. Hopefully we get some numbers of the internal temperatures, as I aim to place my order within a few days.