Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

ramen5677

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 29, 2016
Hello,

I have ordered a 13 inch 2.7GHz/512GB/16GB touchbar MacBook Pro, but am now getting some doubts about that touchbar.
As a Maths/Computer Science student i do not think that I can make great use of that gimmicky bar (if not the contrary); I'd rather have the function keys. However, the better processor and faster Ram made me buy the touch-bar one.
How big will the CPU/GPU advantage of the above MBP be on a 2.0GHz/256GB/16GB non-touchbar MBP in the scenario of light/scientific coding and regular Uni-stuff? In light of the battery-size reduction I am now additionally concerned about battery life. Will the 15Watt Processor of the non-touchbar MBP in addition to the slightly bigger battery yield noticeably better battery life?
Will I feel ripped off when not going for the touch-bar one, as prices differ only slightly and specs seem much better?

Thanks in advance.

keviig

macrumors 6502
Jun 7, 2012
Here are top Geekbench 4 results for:

- 2015 rMBP 13" Base model (5257U)
vs
- 2016 rMBP 13" Base Non-Touch Bar (6360U):

- Single Core
- 2015: 3716
- 2016: 3730

- Multi Core
- 2015: 7110
- 2016: 7085

https://browser.primatelabs.com/v4/cpu/compare/605218?baseline=875361

So performance should really not be an issue. Expect the Touch Bar base model to be 5-10% faster than this. The battery is roughly 10% bigger in the non-Touch Bar version, it doesn't have to power the Touch Bar + T1 Chip and it has a CPU with half the TDP (15W vs 28W). I guess roughly 15% better battery life is a fair assumption.

Reactions: Abaganov

Smoovejayy

macrumors 6502
Jan 20, 2012