Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

dlegend

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jan 11, 2009
DC
Reading all these tripod threads got me thinking about how I need a tripod. I always seem to just rush my pictures and I don't get the results I want. So, what tripods/heads do you all recommend?

I'm an amateur. I don't sell my pics for money. I currently have a D40, kit zooms and the 35 1.8 AF-S lens. Ideally I'd love to upgrade to a D90 or 300 (or whatever the equivalent is when I've saved up enough to afford one). I also don't expect to spend $20 and have a good tripod.

Grimace

macrumors 68040
Feb 17, 2003
with Hamburglar.
Reading all what threads? There are dozens of threads on the very topic which you just asked? Try a search and you'll have a wealth of information.

AlaskaMoose

macrumors 68040
Apr 26, 2008
Alaska
Another nice one is Manfrotto 055X Pro B ($140-180)
Ball head: 488RCA (around $115.00)

Amazon offers very nice deals, maybe better than the prices I wrote above.

maddagascar

macrumors regular
Oct 26, 2009
yupp, i was gonna get the 7302 tripod..but then ended up getting the 190XB with the 496RC2 head on it..it came as a package from B&H.

it has good reviews and can hold up a lot, as well as get low from 3inch above the ground.

4lb's, which is not as bad. just ordered it last night soo i'm very excited to get my first tripod. didn't think it was that necessary to get one, but it really is for night shots.

from my newbie tip, don't cheap out on it.

i know everybody wants to save, but would you rather spend less on a tripod then spend more when that cheap tripod falls over with your lens and camera attached to it? ;):rolleyes:

but the 7302 does seem like a great tripod, i just wanted a little more peace of mind.

neutrino23

macrumors 68000
Feb 14, 2003
SF Bay area