Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

fcanozo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 6, 2008
Hi guys, I'm new in the photography world and I'm planing to buy a tripod but I don't know anything about.

-Nikon D40
-Sigma lens 18-200

Any recomendations?

Thanks.

eddx

macrumors regular
May 12, 2005
Manchester, UK
You have two choices in my eyes.

a - an old tripod, from your local camera shop, probably cost around $30-$80 and might last you three or four uses.

b - a Bogen/Manfrotto Tripod System that will last you years (my dad still uses his from 20 years back an it is fine, just a little heavy). For your I would recommend the 190xProB with a 486RC2 ball head. With the more professional tripods you buy the legs and head seperately to get a more custom set up. The cost is around $200 up wards, here is a link to get you started.

http://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/product/480322-REG/Bogen_Manfrotto__190XPROB_Tripod_Legs_Black_.html

Now $200 might seem a lot for a tripod, it is but I have plenty of friends who brought the cheaper alternatives and within two or three weeks came back to go and buy Manfrotto. One of my friends just takes HDR photos and ended up going through three cheap tripods he got of eBay before setting up and buying Manfrotto.

Hope this helps.

Father Jack

macrumors 68020
Jan 1, 2007
Ireland
Now $200 might seem a lot for a tripod, it is but I have plenty of friends who brought the cheaper alternatives and within two or three weeks came back to go and buy Manfrotto.
I must agree with eddx, cheap tripods are a total waste of time and money. They lull you into a false sense of security ... :eek:
Buy a model from the middle of the range made by a well known manufacturer and it will last for years and provide a rock solid base for your camera .... :)

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California