Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

igilphoto

macrumors member
Original poster
Nov 2, 2018
Hello ,
Would love to hear your thoughts on this manner -
Im a photographer who mostly uses Lightroom and some photoshop ,but want to future proof myself in case I do some video or gaming .

I was pretty sure about getting the I9(3.6GHz 8-core Intel Core i9) but after reading some thoughts here and reviews of the chip I'm concerned it will run too hot and loud in the current iMac build .
I need to wait for reviews but on paper it seems like a possible problem .

Its very important for me that my mac will be strong but as silent as possible and find a sweet spot .

Then I started looking at the I5(3.7GHz 6‑core Intel Core i5) I mentioned and found that its actually pretty good but lacks the additional cores and multithreading .It's less powerful but supposed to run cooler.

I'm trying to decide how important multithreading actually is for me ,can someone give me an example of usage ?
Im looking at benchmarks but would love to understand it in everyday .

If I understand correctly ,it means that if I'l for example export images from Lightroom while I'm doing other tasks it will run much better on the I9 ?
Or is it just for very demanding tasks like video editing and rendering and multithreading isn't that important ?

Also, as I'm not so much of a tech guy -
If the I9 does runs hotter and louder ,it happens only under heavy work load that is relative to his power? Or does it mean that every task and average usage will result in louder machine ?

What do you think ? What did you ordered ?

Thank you in advance !

jerwin

Suspended
Jun 13, 2015
Judging from these two articles, lightroom isn't as multithreaded as photoshop, and the performance benefits of a 9900K over a 9700K aren't worth the price.

https://www.pugetsystems.com/labs/a...2018-Core-i7-9700K-i9-9900K-Performance-1248/