Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

chase71320

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 14, 2008
I am new to photography, and I am on a low budget. Two disadvantages when looking to purchase a camera. Having said that, I need to know from all of you experts if these deals are "too good to be true" or legitimately good deals. I already have an old 35mm Canon EOS Rebel G, and after playing with that, I want to get an inexpensive DSLR to shoot with as well. I found this website by looking around the macrumor forums, and these two Canons jumped out at me.

http://www.adorama.com/ICADRXTBR.html

http://www.adorama.com/ICADRXTIBR.html

Now, the most important question: Can I trust these prices as legitmate? It does say that they are "Refurbished by Canon Inc."

My next question: The former is 8 megapixels, while the latter is 10 megapixels. Is this going to make much of a difference?

My final question: Would purchasing a Nikon D40 (6 megapixels) be a better choice than either of these Canons?

Any and all help is greatly appreciated.:apple:

JSF

macrumors member
Mar 14, 2008
Edmond, OK
The prices are legitimate. Adorama is a god company and I think they have a special right now if you pay with paypal you get an additional 10% off. Any of the cameras would be a good choice you just need to decide on how much money you want to spend.

jalagl

macrumors 6502a
Jun 5, 2003
Costa Rica
I have a Rebel XT, and love it. However, for a $50 difference, I would go with the XTi. The main reason is that it has better and faster Autofocus. 8 vs. 10 megapixels isn't really relevant, in my opinion (especially if you are new to photography, as I was when I got the XT).

So, I would say that you get the XTi unless you are really cash-strapped, then get the XT. Both are great cameras.