Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

woolypants

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 24, 2018
I like the idea of an Apple Pencil 2. But not enough to pay £120. I'm no artist and it'd just be helping me out in things like text editing or browsing.

So, UK users – two questions, I guess:

1. Is there a cheap(er) place to get one?
  2. I'm in no rush, so is there something to wait for, like a sale at certain retailers? Black Friday's an obvious one. Are there other events that might be worth waiting for?
  3. Bearing in mind the simplicity of what I need, is a Pencil 1 or Logitech Crayon a better idea? Are you in the same boat, and if so how did you find it?

Neil.gtis

macrumors member
Mar 12, 2021
England
I got a cheap one of Amazon uk for £20
And use it much like you want one for
I use it on my mini 6 it’s rechargeable
But not on the iPad
Neil

woolypants

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 24, 2018
To answer my own question, I just bought a “active stylus” knock off from Amazon. £25. Essentially identical to an Apple Pencil 1, while also magnetically sticking to the side of the iPad. Works great. I call it the Apple Biro, because it’s just like using a pen with ink—no touch sensitivity, but you wouldn’t expect that from a pen. Perfect for note taking and marking up PDFs etc.

lostPod

macrumors 6502
May 9, 2022
To answer my own question, I just bought a “active stylus” knock off from Amazon. £25. Essentially identical to an Apple Pencil 1, while also magnetically sticking to the side of the iPad. Works great. I call it the Apple Biro, because it’s just like using a pen with ink—no touch sensitivity, but you wouldn’t expect that from a pen. Perfect for note taking and marking up PDFs etc.
Do you have a link ?

woolypants

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Oct 24, 2018
Do you have a link ?