Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Dank_Tank

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 29, 2016
I have an older model MacBook and the software needs to be updated (Currently 10.7). However, when I go to check for update, nothing is available. I try to get MacOS Sierra but it won't load. I don't really know what i'm doing but I could use some help :)

Dank_Tank

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 29, 2016
We need to know what Mac model and year you have to see if it supports Sierra.

Here is a list of Macs that support Sierra:
https://support.apple.com/kb/sp742?locale=en_US&viewlocale=en_US

i can go to the apple logo and pull up the about this mac info but it only shows macbook pro 15" glossy. it doesn't say a year. LION is loaded... i am very new to mac and don't know much about them yet. it shows no updates available. I have no problem paying to update software but want to make sure it will work before i spend money just to throw it away. other than the about this mac option is there somewhere else i can find out what year is was produced? or is there an update that the year doesn't matter?
[doublepost=1483109974][/doublepost]Model Name: MacBook Pro

Model Identifier: MacBookPro1,1

Processor Name: Intel Core Duo

Processor Speed: 2 GHz

Number of Processors: 1

Total Number of Cores: 2

L2 Cache: 2 MB

Memory: 2 GB

Bus Speed: 667 MHz

Boot ROM Version: MBP11.0055.B08

SMC Version (system): 1.2f10

Serial Number (system): W86177J7VWW

Hardware UUID: 00000000-0000-1000-8000-0016CB8DAF15

Sudden Motion Sensor:

State: Enabled

chrfr

macrumors G5
Jul 11, 2009