Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

PegasusMedia

macrumors member
Original poster
Mar 29, 2006
Jacksonville, FL
OK, so I'm new and don't know anything. A few weeks ago I learned a great deal about lenses from you guys when I originally asked about telephoto to shoot my kid's theater. Great thread, great advice and I learned a ton.

I ended the thread by saying I wwas going to get a Canon with a 50mm/f1.4.

Well...change of plans...I wound up buying a NikonD70 with the 18-70 kit lens from another MacRumors member. I'll probably still buy a prime, although this lens get's pretty good reviews.

Anyway...my question is this...What flash unit do I want?

I'll be hanging out backstage shooting "day in the life" stuff of the dancers, the rehearsals...just trying to get some practice by shooting people around the theater.

Again, I'm a total noob...these things have features that I don't even know what they mean but am anxious to learn. I don't expect "pro" pics right away, but I want to head in that direction, so I want to invest in the right equipment and learn how to use it.

Nikon sells the SB-800 or the more affordable SB-600, which I bet is fine for me? What about the off brands? Good enough? I have learned not skimp on lenses...what about skimping on flash?

Please give a "fancy flash units" 101 for me and the other noobs.

GoCubsGo

macrumors Nehalem
Feb 19, 2005
Funny, someone just asked me this so I'm just copying my response to them. :)

I have the d70 and the sb-800. In some cases I wonder if I should have bought the sb-600 as well as a lighter more portable flash. Do not get me wrong, the sb-800 was not a bad choice at all, however, it does get a bit heavy while I wander around on vacation and such.