Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

sotgecho

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 8, 2007
Does anyone here shoot underwater photography?

I am new to scuba diver and a hobbyist photographer. I want to combine both of my interests.

Anyone have any good advice or tips ie equipment, techniques?

Thanks in advance.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
Does anyone here shoot underwater photography?

I am new to scuba diver and a hobbyist photographer. I want to combine both of my interests.

Anyone have any good advice or tips ie equipment, techniques?

Thanks in advance.

Yes I do a bit of U/W photo.

How new are you to diving? Don't bring a camera with you until you have done a number of dives and have zero trouble hovering motionless without having to thing to much about it.

Soe questions anyone who is to recommend equipment would ask...
How new are you to diving and how frequently do you dive?
Where do you live and what are the dive conditions like there? What's the visibility? How are you getting in and out of the water. Charger boats, Kayaks, Beach dives with surf or midwest quaries? Do you have a budget? What is your level of understanding about photography. Can you shoot on full manual while balancing a flash and ambient light? All of this kind of goes together before anyone can recommend something to you.

You have to think this through. I've seen so many posts were a diver buy s a camera then thinks about a housing. Wrong. Housing are not available for every camera. And then comes an external strobe or maybe you want two strobes and not all strobes work with all housings.