Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HE15MAN

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Sep 3, 2009
Florida's Treasure Coast
C&C please, I am new with less that 800 shots under my belt, so have plenty to learn. Photobucket quality degradation doesn't do it justice. :(

Thanks in advance

IMG_0659-Version2.jpg

Ruahrc

macrumors 65816
Jun 9, 2009
Just a couple of thoughts:

1) The bird blends into the large branch in the background. Moving a little to the left/right such that the bird was set against a greener part of the background would help make it stand out better

2) There is not enough interest/context in the background to make it an effective environmental portrait. Thus, much of the background is unnecessary and a tighter crop might be more effective.

NathanCH

macrumors 65816
Oct 5, 2007
Vancouver, BC
How close did you get? It would be great if you posted some EXIF information such as the focal length, shutter speed, aperture, etc.

It looks like you got some pretty good bokeh in the background, but I agree with Ruahrc, a crop might help. Also, the bird itself looks a bit soft... it could be photobucket as you mentioned, but applying some sharpening in Photoshop (if you have it) will be make it sharper.

gnd

macrumors 6502a
Jun 2, 2008
At my cat's house
How close did you get? It would be great if you posted some EXIF information such as the focal length, shutter speed, aperture, etc.

Camera Maker: Canon
Camera Model: Canon EOS REBEL T2i
Image Date: 2010:04:24 11:35:05
Focal Length: 250.0mm
Aperture: f/5.6
Exposure Time: 0.025 s (1/40)
ISO equiv: 100
Exposure Program: aperture priority (3)
Exposure Bias: none
Metering Mode: Matrix
Exposure: aperture priority (semi-auto)
White Balance: Manual
Flash Fired: No
Color Space: sRGB

And if you want to know where:
EXIF GPS IFD
* GPS Latitude Reference = N
* GPS Latitude = 26/1,1612/100,0/1 [degrees, minutes, seconds] ===> 26° 16.12′ == 26.268667°