Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Smb1913

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 26, 2017
I'm a engineering student currently looking to upgrade from my worn out, late 2011 MacBook Pro. I love the idea of using a 10.5 iPad Pro as my primary portable device for note taking, light productivity, email, web browsing and other basic tasks. However, I would still require a macOS machine for more labor intensive graphics processing that could also double as a general purpose machine for the household.

Now that new hardware has been released I'm looking at two options:

1. Purchase 10.5 iPad Pro with keyboard and pencil for roughly $1200 and also get a 2017 4K iMac w/ 3.6GHz i7 (This model's memory, storage and CPU are upgradable according to iFixit.com) for roughly $1800.
  2. Purchase 2017 13" MacBook Pro "TouchBar" that has comparable memory, storage and CPU to the above iMac for roughly the same overall cost.

I know this will have to come down to personal preference, and am honestly leaning towards the first option since I really think the iPad Pro could handle 90% of my daily tasks and like the idea of having an upgradable iMac that will serve my family's storage and performance needs into the foreseeable future. I guess I've already decided, but wanted to check and make sure there's not something I'm forgetting or missing. Does this seem reasonable? Is there some specific setback or hurdle with using an iPad Pro for my studies? Any additional questions or comments are appreciated.

shaunp

Cancelled
Nov 5, 2010
Get a surface pro and an external monitor for use at home.... Sorry couldn't resist that.