Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

CoolHandLu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 16, 2010
So I've got a 4+ year old MacMini running 10.4.11 that I use primarily for my photography. I primarily use Lightroom (older version 1.4) but I want to add CS4 and generally upgrade.

I'm thinking the iMac 21.5 will do the trick nicely. I really don't need portability, so there's no advantage to going with a Macbook - plus my eyes could use the larger screen (currently I have a HP 22207 22' monitor hooked up to my MacMini and I don't want to go back to a smaller screen!).

I'm no gamer, and I'm no professional photographer, so I don't need blinding fast processing speed or huge amounts of RAM. I am looking for a nice improvement in speed over my MacMini, though. I'll be doing a fair amt of RAW processing as well.

Is there anything I'm missing or should consider? Have folks who have moved up from a MacMini to an iMac been pleased with the increase in speed and processing power when running Lightroom and the like?
Thanks!
Brian

CoolHandLu

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Apr 16, 2010
HMMmmmm . . . maybe I'm in the wrong sub-forum?

Should this have been posted elsewhere?
Brian

jackerin

macrumors 6502a
Jun 29, 2008
Finland
I almost recommended a new Mini since you already have peripherals, then I remembered the dual-screen opportunities you'd get with the iMac and your existing screen. So yeah, sounds good to me.

snberk103

macrumors 603
Oct 22, 2007
An Island in the Salish Sea
If money is an issue, I'd go with a new Mini from the refurbished store.... It will do everything you seem to need, and it will drive two monitors. Mini's go fast off the refurbished store so you have to check a couple of times a day and then pounce when you see one that will suit.