Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

AksMar

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Mar 29, 2017
Hi all,
I am a total newbie where maintenance of a laptop is concerned but my dear MacBook Pro is very close to crashing and I need to squeeze another year or two out of it.
There hasn't been any updates in the last 2 years on this topic, at least not that I could find.

I read on the CNET that I can upgrade my memory to SSD SAMSUNG 850 EVO 2.5" 500GB SATA III 3-D Vertical Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) MZ-75E500B/AM. Just ordered it from Newegg.ca for a fab price of $239.99. Videos on how to change the drive make it seem very simple however I am concerned about the software. Nowhere does it mention what happens to my software upon new SSD install. I have no idea where the original CD is since I bought this machine in 2010 so would I have to reinstall it?
If you have any other tips/tricks before I start this process, please share... here is the link i planned on using to complete the drive upgrade
https://www.ifixit.com/Guide/MacBook+Pro+13-Inch+Unibody+Mid+2010+Hard+Drive+Replacement/4305

Steps:
Launch Disk Utility
Launch SuperDuper
Install the SSD

ZapNZs

macrumors 68020
Jan 23, 2017
There are several ways you can set up the new drive
  1. Fresh install - you create a USB installer, boot into the USB drive, and the drive installs the operating system on the SSD, then you manually reinstall each App you use and manually move over your files/other data
  2. Fresh install with Migration Assistant - you do the above to install the OS, then use a Time Machine backup of your existing HDD to install (some) Apps, most files/documents, and most settings on your current system