Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

gorgre

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 16, 2019
Hi, as the title suggest I am looking for an iMac and found two eligible options both priced almost the same (21,5 is 80 € cheaper). What are the main differences I should look for when deciding? 27" has a Fusion drive and bigger display (click for full specs, it's the second config), the 21,5" is newer and has USB-C (some advantage for me) (click for full specs, it's the base model). My main question are the processor and graphics. I have little experience in comparison thats why I decided to ask for more professional opinion. If I am correct, the 27" has i5-6500 and 21,5" i5-7400. Other than that i5-7400 is the newer, supposedly faster generation I have no clue how to compare them (or what the information on the web truly mean). For the graphics, the 27" has AMD Radeon R9 M390 and 21,5" Radeon Pro 555, I found this excerpt from Notebookcheck's ranking which states that the R9 is higher rated, but again I found comparisons which state otherwise.

The iMac will be mainly used for normal work, on occasion there will be some photoshop/illustrator and film editing, but nothing too heavy. If you have any advice you can give me, it would be greatly appreciated. Thank you in advance!

Reactions: JulsYa

azentropy

macrumors 601
Jul 19, 2002
Surprise
If the 21.5 just has the regular 1tb 5400rpm drive and you are not comfortable upgrading it yourself or making a USB-C external SSD drive your primary, then go with the 27". That drive totally ruins the system.

Reactions: ruslan120

whosthis

macrumors member
Aug 21, 2008
For me, the Fusion drive would be a no-no (I hope the 4k has a SSD and not the HDD). Also, USB-C gives better speeds for external drives. Looks like the 4k is a better option, especially if you pair it up with a 2nd screen maybe later on.

I guess they are from Apple's refurbished store?