Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

HAL-00

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 2, 2008
I'm new to photography. I mostly shoot family (my kids), a lot of it indoors, also outdoors. I have a Tamron 17-50mm f/2.8 lens and a 35mm f/1.8 Nikon prime, also a SB-400 flash.

Unless I need flash I use just the prime most of the time. I prefer the extra light and frankly composition with 35mm is more straightforward... zooming confuses me (I'm a newbie, after all). I don't really long for the 17mm or the 50mm ends of the Tamron most of the time, although I will probably take it outside in the summer. I do feel like I would want to get closer to people and that 50mm seems inadequate (especially for close-ups) for this, so I would want something beyond 50mm.

Lately I've been really wanting a 85mm f/1.8 Nikon lens (or a similar lens). It's cheap and fast and (I think) would give me the extra range I want. The catch of course is that I have a D3000 and the lens is AF-only. If not for the AF, I would've probably bought the thing already. But now I have doubts and questions:

- how difficult and how reliable is using manual focusing with AF lens on the D40...D5000 bodies? How much practice does it take?
- more specifically, on D3000?
- would it be possible to AF manually fast enough to get shots of people in action, like children playing?
- any specific tips how to do manual focusing right?
- is it worth the effort or should I be looking for some other lens? (I'm not interested in buying a new camera though)

I've tried the manual AF with the 35mm prime and so far it's a bit hit or miss but not bad either, with quite a few sharp shots as a result. I do have to take my time to get the focus right.

Any advice is appreciated.