Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

khosna

macrumors member
Original poster
Feb 13, 2008
I have a MBA and would to use Aperture via an external HDD. Anyone currently using an external HDD as their primary storage device for photos with or without an MBA? Also, does Aperture work and play well with other photo management software like Picasa. What I mean is will Aperture rearrange/rename/modify the original photos? I don't want to switch from what I use now until I am sure -- thus the need for Aperture to leave my originals as is. I can make a copy of all of some of the photos if need be until I am sure I want to switch to Aperture. Thanks for your input.

redrabbit

macrumors 6502
Aug 8, 2006
I can't imagine Aperture would run too well on a MBA...It would be even slower if it was editing photos off an external.

ChrisA

macrumors G5
Jan 5, 2006
Redondo Beach, California
I have a MBA and would to use Aperture via an external HDD. Anyone currently using an external HDD as their primary storage device for photos with or without an MBA? Also, does Aperture work and play well with other photo management software like Picasa. What I mean is will Aperture rearrange/rename/modify the original photos? I don't want to switch from what I use now until I am sure -- thus the need for Aperture to leave my originals as is. I can make a copy of all of some of the photos if need be until I am sure I want to switch to Aperture. Thanks for your input.

I've thinking of converting over to Aperture too. I made a new user login account. Call it "test". Then when yo log in a the user "test" you have an independent setup and whatever preferences you set up will apply just to that user.

I've found that you don't want to just jump on Aperture before you are up to speed on it. Go through the video tutorials on the Apple.com web site and read the user manual (Yea I know 700+ pages...) DO all this as user "test"