Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

beatz_55

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 15, 2020
I just dl'd the trial for Logic Pro X. So far, it's running well. Def a lot of GB for sound files. I currently have a 2.3 GHz Quad-Core Intel Core i5, 8 GB of RAM, Catalina OS (MBP 2018). I'm still learning the ropes of Audio Production.

Are these specs sufficient enough for an external MIDI, guitar, and microphone? I'm mostly making beats and some recorded instruments.

Would love to know your thoughts.

vemac575

macrumors 6502
Feb 18, 2018
Depending on what you're doing, you should be ok. It's definitely on the low side, but it can work.

Reactions: beatz_55

blakedirksen

macrumors newbie
Jun 10, 2020
Iowa
I have a 2013 MBP, 8GB RAM, 2GHz Quad Core i7 and I run logic great with a much more complicated set up. One thing to note in logic that will help you a lot; in the audio tab in preferences you can adjust the buffer size as well as go into low latency mode in the general tab. In general, when recording you want low lag and low latency, this will reduce the quality of your plug ins but who cares (and it isn't much), you are trying to get good tracks down. When you are done tracking, set your buffers back and turn off low latency modes and your plug ins will know they can use more resources.

robertosh

macrumors 65816
Mar 2, 2011
Switzerland
Logic is an incredibly well optimized piece of software. I’m running it on my 2008 iMac, with a Core 2 Duo, 6g of RAM and an Scarlett 6i6 interface. Of course, I need to use max buffer while mixing and some demanding plugins are not usable, but I can do 99% of what I need. For instance, I’m currently mixing a song with 48 audio tracks. Running Logic 10.4.8 on high sierra (not officially supported). This is really amazing !

Reactions: blakedirksen

Manek43509

macrumors member
Aug 21, 2010
Norwich, UK