Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

cr2sh

macrumors 68030
Original poster
May 28, 2002
downtown
So the question I'm asking is, if I get payed to go out and shoot for a marketing firm.. and I take all of these impressive photos, am I allowed to use them on my site for my own portfolio? It seems like there's an obvious line here, a permission I need to get from my client.. because once they've payed me for the photos, they're not really mine any more.

Am I being too anal or is there definitely a line here and if so.. how do you go about getting permission and is verbal approval good enough? If the answer is "just ask them if it's okay" I can do that, but if I don't want to ask a dumb question to my client if the answer is "No.. just use them."

Any insight from the pros in the group would be very much appreciated.
Thanks.

pdxflint

macrumors 68020
Aug 25, 2006
Oregon coast
I'm not a lawyer, but here's the way I see it.

If you are an employee of an organization, like a newspaper or any other organization that pays you as an employee, most likely the copyrights to anything you do "officially" in the name of the organization belongs to them. They pay your salary, supply the equipment, film, lab, computers, office space, etc. You just work for them.