Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

joegaeta71

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Nov 13, 2019
I am about to pull the trigger on a 2018 Mac Mini. Currently, I have a 2015 MacBook Pro hooked up to two (2) 27" Apple Thunderbolt Displays. These displays are still gorgeous and work great. Furthermore, my eyesight sucks (stigmaitism and near-signed)...so, HD and 4K means nothing to me - not to mention that I only need my Mac for Media, Web Browsing, Email, and MS Office. I'm not a video producer or editor or photographer.

Sooooo.... straightforward question: Using a USB-C to Thunderbolt adapter(s), can I utilized these monitors with the Mac Mini? Will the FaceTime Camera(s) and display speakers still work with this set up?

Thanks in advance for any responses.

satcomer

Suspended
Feb 19, 2008
The Finger Lakes Region
The 2018 Mac Mini uses Thunderbolt 3 ports! You just have to remember one Thunderbolt chip supports two sequences ports! So to get the best speeds for this displays use a sequences of ports like 1&3 os 2&4 on so on! Then you should drives those displays no problem or no adapters needed!

servusGruezi

macrumors newbie
Feb 16, 2021
I am about to pull the trigger on a 2018 Mac Mini. Currently, I have a 2015 MacBook Pro hooked up to two (2) 27" Apple Thunderbolt Displays. These displays are still gorgeous and work great. Furthermore, my eyesight sucks (stigmaitism and near-signed)...so, HD and 4K means nothing to me - not to mention that I only need my Mac for Media, Web Browsing, Email, and MS Office. I'm not a video producer or editor or photographer.

Sooooo.... straightforward question: Using a USB-C to Thunderbolt adapter(s), can I utilized these monitors with the Mac Mini? Will the FaceTime Camera(s) and display speakers still work with this set up?

Thanks in advance for any responses.