Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

legionsunited

macrumors member
Original poster
Jul 12, 2018
Localhost
Hello folks, I'm currently torn between buying the already released M1 Mac Mini or wait for the new redesigned iMac 24inch w/ M1X chip.

My use case - I'm a student and I generally use my current MacBook Pro for reading PDF assignments/books and watch online videos in VLC/YouTube and make notes. I don't play any games at all, nor I do any video editing or photo editing. I just basically use these apps as of now - Safari, VLC, Preview and that's 99% of my workflow includes, but maybe in future I'll do some light photo/video editing and iOS development down the line.

Coming to Hardware - I don't have any monitor to begin with (will buy LG 2K 27" monitor). I just have a Logitech K380 Keyboard and a cheap Bluetooth mouse (though I will buy Magic Trackpad 2 later) and also coming to speakers I have HomePod and that's it. I don't need a webcam as of now.

So, should I wait for the new iMac (considering I lack most of the Hardware) or go buy the M1 Mac Mini now?
The Only compelling reason for me to wait for a new iMac 24 inches is because iMac is all-in-one bundle and looks aesthetically pleasing and have its own minimalistic aura in the room.

Thank you for reading this.

Reactions: Donfor39

TrenttonY

macrumors 65816
Nov 14, 2012
Hello folks, I'm currently torn between buying the already released M1 Mac Mini or wait for the new redesigned iMac 24inch w/ M1X chip.