Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Wait or Buy?

• Total voters

PapaPete

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jun 26, 2018
I'm very attracted to the MacBook Pros, and I am an incoming Computer Engineering student. Basically I want to know if it's gonna be worth it to wait for the incoming MBP or just get one that's already out, I am not an Apple "fanboy" whatsoever, but I really do like the design of these laptops.

maflynn

macrumors Haswell
May 3, 2009
If you can wait, then wait. If you need one now, then there's no bad reason to buy one. People are estimating that we'll see an update this fall, but its really anyone's guess.

Reactions: supermars

lec0rsaire

macrumors 68000
Feb 23, 2017
I'm very attracted to the MacBook Pros, and I am an incoming Computer Engineering student. Basically I want to know if it's gonna be worth it to wait for the incoming MBP or just get one that's already out, I am not an Apple "fanboy" whatsoever, but I really do like the design of these laptops.

What you should do is buy the 2018 model as soon as it’s announced so you get more life out of it. I bought the 2016 15” as soon as it was available. I also do this with phones as well. Should be October or November at the latest but it is on the way and will have a quad core i5 in the 13” which is a big deal. If the 15” gets a hexacore chip it’ll be nice but not as drastic as going from dual to quad core since more software can benefit from quad vs. hexa.

turbineseaplane

macrumors P6
Mar 19, 2008
My vote is "wait", but I'd also ask you:

"What makes you so sure there's a new model coming this year"?

Gara_kons

macrumors member
Jun 12, 2018