Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

davidmartindale

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 28, 2011
PNW, USA
Hey guys,

I want to move to New York at some point in the next year or so. I would like to hear from members living in the New York area regarding employment opportunities and the best places to look for housing.

As far as employment goes, I don't have any degrees but I am very well versed in computers. I have a bit over a year working as a technical service rep for a large computer company that may or may not be the focus of this website. Along with the technical skill set I have over 3 years of managerial experience and close to 6 years of experience as a general contractor. I just want to know if there are a decent supply of jobs available to someone with those credentials.

When it comes to housing, I do not need anything fancy, just something relatively affordable and not in a really bad area. Preferred areas are Brooklyn, Queens, and Manhattan though I don't really expect to be able to afford Manhattan.

Thanks for any input guys!

davidmartindale

macrumors regular
Original poster
Jan 28, 2011
PNW, USA
If you're looking to live alone, expect to pay nearly $2k/mo for an apt. Some of the apts in the Bronx are cheaper, though.

Yeah... I have been looking around on Craigslist and an app I cannot recall the name of at the moment. Alone is preferred, but, I don't have any issues with having roommates as long as they're within a 5 years or so of my age (24) and have at least some common interests as I.

mobilehaathi

macrumors G3
Aug 19, 2008
The Anthropocene
Yeah... I have been looking around on Craigslist and an app I cannot recall the name of at the moment. Alone is preferred, but, I don't have any issues with having roommates as long as they're within a 5 years or so of my age (24) and have at least some common interests as I.