Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

TheMasin9

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 22, 2004
Huber Heights, OH
Hey guys,
So, i tote my camera around with me quite often just to capture the odd snap here and there, a few of my coworkers and my supervisor went rock climbing and my supervisor asked me if i was interested in photographing his wedding later in 2008. I said i would definitely have to get back to him regarding it. I have little to no experience in photographing weddings, just the occasional family wedding (i have a load of cousins) from my seat in the wedding party. I know that my setup would be limiting in a wedding situation: A nikon d50 with sb600 and 18-200vr. I would have my brothers d40x on hand as a backup in case the worst should happen. I have done a couple of modeling shoots in the past and have a reasonable eye for good composition.

My concern is missing "that shot" or "that moment" for the bride and groom. I understand after doing some research on the matter (and from attending several weddings as well) that most situations are low light and would require fast glass, that there are things that i will miss, and that i will have to scout ahead to plan my shots, most likely at the wedding rehearsal. Since i am just getting started, and am not even sure about making a part time "career" out of this, i dont want my limited experience and equipment availability to mar my future.

My supervisor has offered me between $800-1000 to do the wedding. He as already priced area photographers and apparently this would be a great deal for him (and me considering my experience level). But, i would more than likely invest the paycheck in equipment, either some new glass or a D200 (supplemented with some of my own funds of course) before the wedding so i had it on hand to use.

I would appreciate any input or advicewith regards to the situation as i am in a tough spot.

Thanks

swiftaw