Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sir SpemzR

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 9, 2009
Inland Empire
Ok so my cousins wedding is next week and she wants me to take
pictures of it, she knows im new to photography so she doesnt expect the
best of the best...

i barely own a Rebel Xs and im comfortable shooting in different modes
but i know i cant just use my bare camera and ill need some kind of flash
to carry around and maybe other supplies...

so what do you guys recommend for a wedding?
besides my Rebel Xs and the 18-55mm kit lens...
what kind of flash(s) should i look into?

thank you,
mario

gatepc

macrumors 6502
Apr 11, 2008
Pittsburgh PA
If I was you I would look into some lens/flash rental sites like http://www.lensrentals.com/

If I was you I would rent these two lenses and the following flash unit ( assuming you can afford the rentals )

http://www.lensrentals.com/rent/canon-speedlite-580ex-ii/for-canon
http://www.lensrentals.com/rent/canon-70-200mm-f2.8-l-is/for-canon
http://www.lensrentals.com/rent/canon-24-70mm-f2.8-l/for-canon

and you should be set. Your camera body isint the best but the person is not expecting the best in the world ether but the two lenses listed above are really fast and would be extra good/important if your going to be indoors.

termina3

macrumors 65816
Jul 16, 2007
TX
best of the best...

Good. But go a bit farther to manage expectations: tell her that you might miss some important shots. Your inexperience could cost her big time.

x2 on the gear rental. Tell your cousin it's a reasonable expense.

Sir SpemzR

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Jun 9, 2009
Inland Empire
Well i doubt ill miss any real important shots...

first were going to a nice park to take some photos
then to the reception and the party same ol' routine...

and im impatient so ill follow here everywhere taking photos lol

EDIT: would i happen to need a diffuser?

compuwar