Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

bluewire

macrumors member
Original poster
Aug 28, 2006
Bay Area, California
I had asked on this board about getting a dslr versus a prosumer super zoom. Most people responded that I might as well get the dSLR since I was looking to get one eventually anyways. Well I pooh poohed that idea and bought a h2 and tinkered with it a for a few days. Was not satisified. Started to mess around with the dSLRs and just fell in love with the xTi.

So now I have this beautiful camera and a so so kit lens. I have some money in my budget to pick up another lens (maybe 200 or so) so I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on what type of lens I should be looking for. I was looking for a nice prime probably first...but I am new to all of this so any advice would be greatly appreciated. I'm doing my photography term refreshing as we speak!

:)

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
I assume the 200 mentioned is a price (USD) as opposed to a focal length (mm)!

The 50 f/1.8 is regarded as a good performer and amazing value for money. I don't own one (I bought the f/1.4 instead) but I'd look into that if you want a prime...

robbieduncan

Moderator emeritus
Jul 24, 2002
Harrogate
I wish I could afford a 200mm lens right now! :) Yes, thats 200USD.

How do you like your f1.4? Do you have a photo or two you could share with that lens that I could take a look at?

It's awesome! Amazing DOF control, the ability to shoot without flash in pretty low light, the whole lot. At work now so can't post pictures...

clintob

macrumors 6502
Feb 16, 2006
New York, NY