Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

synchro__

macrumors newbie
Original poster
May 2, 2021
I'm researching for buying my first iPad. My expectation is that this new iPad will be with me for many years to come and, of course, I'd appreciate having support for apps (AKA pro apps) and new features in the next years (maybe not all of them, but the most important ones or sure).

I found a sale of the iPad Pro 11 2020 128GB for 674 EUR and I'm wondering if I would lose too much by saving 200+ EUR right now.

I'm new to the iPad world, and I've been reading a lot about about how powerful the iPads are and how iPadOS is the bottleneck at this moment.

If this is true, and given M1 and A12z are the same architecture, would be reasonable to think that most (if not all) the features in the next 2 or 3 years will come to both iPad Pro 2021 and iPad Pro 2020? Or do you think there is a real chance that Apple starts releasing features and apps exclusively for the M1?

Reactions: blkjedi954

barbu

macrumors 65816
Jul 8, 2013
wpg.mb.ca
Eventually, M1 will be the minimum hardware for some future iOS. That is inevitable. However, the A12 machines are not exactly slow.
Buy as much computer as you can at the time. There is always something faster/newer/better around the corner.
But in this comparison, the M1 will likely stay relevant longer than the 2020 iPad Pro.

Reactions: Jake3231

Ludatyk

macrumors 603
May 27, 2012
Texas
I'm new to the iPad world, and I've been reading a lot about about how powerful the iPads are and how iPadOS is the bottleneck at this moment.