Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

The Clark

macrumors 6502a
Original poster
Dec 11, 2013
Canada
The new MBPs are right around the corner and I'm curious what everyone here will be using/use their Macbooks for?

I personally will use mine for writing scripts/video editing, hobbyist programming, media consumption, and as my main computing device (in conjunction with a 4k LG monitor)

What about you?

Last edited:

casperes1996

macrumors 604
Jan 26, 2014
Horsens, Denmark
Bringing it to university. I use my iMac at home, but my current 2014 MacBook Pro is getting a bit long in the tooth, though for the most part still runs just fine. But yeah I’ve used that computer since high school and I’m doing my master’s degree in computer science now, so I think it’s served me well enough that it won’t be too sad to be replaced :p

The upcoming 16” will mostly be doing programming tasks. In addition to that I will also test it extensively with games which I am very excited to try out, in particular because it’ll be a fun discussion to have on the MacGameCast of which I am part. And a laptop that can actually run the subset of games available for macOS on the go really well will be very nice, especially for taking to my brother’s house and having some game time with him.

I also do audio and video work but I foresee mostly using the iMac for that; However I think setting up the laptop as a node in a shared Compressor setup might work nicely.

I’m really excited about the prospect of being able to take my laptop with me to uni without needing to always stay close to a wall outlet though. With a 2014 MacBook Pro that’s never had a battery replacement, I’m a bit of a wallhugger, haha

• Love
Reactions: The Clark

nwcs

macrumors 68030
Sep 21, 2009
Tennessee