Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Psychopasta

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 17, 2021
One of the things I'm not clear about with home automation (I'm a noob) is what the role of the dimmer in the Lutron Caseta is. I understand on-off control, but if the bulb can be set to a specific intensity directly, what does the dimmer in the Caseta actually do? Does it lower the voltage to the bulb, like an incandescent lamp dinner would? Or does it program the bulb intensity like an app would?

inkahauts

macrumors 6502
Sep 7, 2014
The dimmer switches are meant to be used with any led dimmable bulb not necessarily smart bulbs. So they adjust voltage as a way to dim. They do not adjust a smart bulb settings in any way.

You could create an automation that if you changed the dimmer switches strings then it’d do something to a smart bulbs settings, but that’s a can of worms that must be carefully planned out imho. If the smart bulb is connected to whatever the dimmer controls.

One example of something you could do however, I have several lights on a smart switch outside. I also have one smart bulb outside that is on a different non smart switch. So I designed an automation so anytime I turn on the smart switch it automatically turns on the smart bulb as well. Same for turning them off.

Reactions: AustinIllini

Psychopasta

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 17, 2021
Thanks. I am setting up a new smart home from scratch (we move in Aug 1 and once the dust has settled I'll be setting it up. Should I bother with wall switches at all then? I can understand maybe on/off, but dimmer switches seem like they are no longer necessary.

inkahauts

macrumors 6502
Sep 7, 2014