Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Cham2000

macrumors 6502
Original poster
Mar 11, 2022
I keep reading messages about mini-LED and Promotion. What is it all about? What is mini-LED? And what is Promotion? Why these features are good things to have on a desktop display? What are their advantages over display that don't have mini-LED and Promotion? Should I really care about mini-LED and Promotion before buying the Studio Display (which doesn't have these features)?

solouki

macrumors 6502
Jan 5, 2017
I keep reading messages about mini-LED and Promotion. What is it all about? What is mini-LED? And what is Promotion? Why these features are good things to have on a desktop display? What are their advantages over display that don't have mini-LED and Promotion? Should I really care about mini-LED and Promotion before buying the Studio Display (which doesn't have these features)?
Hi Cham2000,

I'm no expert, but since your query hasn't attracted any experts to answer it, I'll attempt a simple explanation.

Computer monitors are often, at least in the recent past, LCD displays (Liquid Crystal Display). Liquid crystals make up the pixels and are used to block light in varying amounts passing through the pixels from the backplane. The backplane is typically lit by a bank of LED (Light Emitting Diode) lights with the light being funneled to the pixels, often by fiber optics. [Sometimes, in the past, these LCD displays have been called LED displays, but technically they should be called LCD displays.]