Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

lgestopen

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Dec 19, 2018
It'll be my first time getting a Mac (I'm a college student) and I want this to be a really good investment. I've been choosing between the new Air and the 2017 Pro without the touchbar. I was leaning towards the Pro 2017 at first but after reading news and threads about the keyboard, I am now leaning towards the Air. I also recently discovered that Apple has repair service programs specifically for the Macbook Pro nTB concerning issues with the battery, the SSD, and the keyboard.

Is the risk worth taking for the MBP 2017 nTB or is it better to go for the new Air 2018?

Thanks!

Howard2k

macrumors 603
Mar 10, 2016
I would take the Pro unless you're adamant that you need the extra super weight benefit of the Air. The Air has the T2 chip, which has been problematic. Huge potential, but a roll of the dice at this point.

Reactions: lgestopen

ajay96

macrumors 6502a
Jul 29, 2013
New York, NY
I just picked up the base model MacBook Pro without the Touch Bar, and it's pretty decent for everyday tasks. I use a desktop at home, so it's something that's great for on to go work and something to use in class. I got it for $1149 at Best Buy. (If you're in the US)

Wags

macrumors 68020
Mar 5, 2006
Nebraska, USA
It'll be my first time getting a Mac (I'm a college student) and I want this to be a really good investment. I've been choosing between the new Air and the 2017 Pro without the touchbar. I was leaning towards the Pro 2017 at first but after reading news and threads about the keyboard, I am now leaning towards the Air. I also recently discovered that Apple has repair service programs specifically for the Macbook Pro nTB concerning issues with the battery, the SSD, and the keyboard.

Is the risk worth taking for the MBP 2017 nTB or is it better to go for the new Air 2018?

Thanks!