Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Kardashian

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Sep 4, 2005
Britain.
I'm looking to pick up a DSLR within the next week or so, I can't really stretch over £450.

The best I've seen, for the price, are the Nikon D50, and Canon EOSD350.

Whats your opinions? Ease of use? Value for money?

D50 is just under £400, and D350 is just under £430.

annk

Administrator
Staff member
Apr 18, 2004
Somewhere over the rainbow
JDT said:
I'm looking to pick up a DSLR within the next week or so, I can't really stretch over £450.

The best I've seen, for the price, are the Nikon D50, and Canon EOSD350.

Whats your opinions? Ease of use? Value for money?

D50 is just under £400, and D350 is just under £430.

This sort of question has been asked so many times, that I think I can answer it, even though I'm no expert.

In the long run, it depends which company's lenses you want to go with. Think about your needs, what sort of photography you want to do, and look at the lens line-up for Canon and Nikon. The glass is more important than the body.

You can also go into a store and take a look at both bodies. See how they feel in your hands. If you don't have much to compare it to, I don't think you'll be able to form an opinion about how the controls sit and function, but you can at least get an idea of how it will be to hold and use the body.

But at the end of the day, I would guess you'll be pleased with either. :) They're both entry-level dSLRs, designed for the same consumer group.

Kardashian

macrumors 68020
Original poster
Sep 4, 2005
Britain.
I felt more comfortable with the Canon, its layout and menu system - and I was really happy with the photographs it took, as well.

I'm 99% sure I want the EOS, unless someone on here has something that warns me off it [lets hope not!]

Thanks!

drlunanerd

macrumors 68000
Feb 14, 2004