Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

Sweet Potato for Easy Poo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 8, 2020
Hi,

Hoping to find a best available & free firewall and VPN for my MacBook air.

Firewall:
I've read some of the reviews about AntiVirus Bit Medic and am not sure I really understand the tech speak. Saw Paragon software in the apps store too and that seems solid, but I am no expert.

VPN:
I tried VPN Gate and found it easy to use but have no idea if there is any truth to it being risky, since it's run by volunteers. would love to hear how VPN gate might compare with the existing free VPNs in the app store.

Any comments and suggestions? Thanks in advance!

ian87w

macrumors G3
Feb 22, 2020
Indonesia
MacOS has built-in firewall (just not enabled by default). It's in System preferences, Security & Privacy, Firewall.

I haven't tried any free VPNs for a while as they've never been reliable.

Brave has Tor mode with its private browsing. Maybe you can try that to see if it meets your needs.

chscag

macrumors 601
Feb 17, 2008
Fort Worth, Texas
As above, macOS has a built in firewall which you can turn on if you wish. However, if you use a router, it has NAT which acts as a hardware firewall. So there really is no need to add a third party firewall. I second the suggestion by @ian87w to use the Brave browser.

Sweet Potato for Easy Poo

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Jul 8, 2020
MacOS has built-in firewall (just not enabled by default). It's in System preferences, Security & Privacy, Firewall.

Brave has Tor mode with its private browsing. Maybe you can try that to see if it meets your needs.
thanks, my MAC firewall seems to be on, but how do I know a NAT is in place? I have a wireless router for all my devices but my MAC is not always on....not quite sure how NAT works.
[automerge]1594293938[/automerge]

Thanks, I just tried Brave Tor and it’s by far the best Tor I’ve tried!