Become a MacRumors Supporter for $50/year with no ads, ability to filter front page stories, and private forums.

openflap

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 15, 2008
i dont know...im new to digital photography...i thought it looked good...so im gonna let the pros tell me how it is...

Attachments

• IMG_0045.JPG.jpg
    IMG_0045.JPG.jpg
    318.7 KB · Views: 191

timmyb

macrumors 6502
Feb 2, 2005
United Kingdom
I'm by no means a pro but here are a couple of comments all the same!

The 'white' flower is blown out so there's no detail. The red/green leaves at the top are a distraction

openflap

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 15, 2008
thats cool...those are the comments i was looking for...just wanted to see what other people see...

i picked up a dSLR from a black friday advert...and getting my feet wet...thanks

timmyb

macrumors 6502
Feb 2, 2005
United Kingdom
...just wanted to see what other people see...
Yeah I agree it's good to get feedback from others. I got my camera just over a month ago and always like to hear what to work on, more than just "that's nice". The weekly photo contest and photo of the day threads are good to get involved on.

firstapple

macrumors 6502a
Sep 25, 2007
Really, it looks like you just kinda went out in your yard and snapped a picture of the first thing you saw. This is typical when you first get a camera, but I would suggest really thinking about the picture before you take it. Also, editing it (cropping, saturation, highklights, etc) afterwards will also give you better results in the end.

To me I can't really tell what is in focus. It looks like the green leaves in the bottom right hand corner, when you should have instead focused on the flower. Also, as one of the above posters mentioned, the leaves at the top of the picture are distracting and pull the viewers' eyes away from the center.

openflap

macrumors newbie
Original poster
Oct 15, 2008